The Department of Computer Science is the pioneer department of the then Faculty of Computing and Information Technology that later evolved into the School of Computing and Informatics Technology.

The Department of Computer Science is currently responsible for running programs in the area of Computer Science.

The Department currently runs the following programs approved by University Council:

  1. PhD in Computer Science
  2. MSc. in Computer Science
  3. Postgraduate Diploma in Computer Science
  4. BSc. in Computer Science

Members of the department participate in and support research through the following research groups:

  1. Artificial Intelligence & Data Science Lab
  2. Software Systems Centre